
Windows App (Remote Desktop)
vAuto-updating (app stores)Free
Microsoft's replacement for the Remote Desktop apps: connect to PCs, Cloud PCs and AVD. By Microsoft Corporation
- Windows
- macOS
- Android
- iOS
- Web app
By the ToolsBharat teamLink checked 30 Oct 2026How we check
Quick answer
Windows App (Remote Desktop) is free software for Windows, macOS, Android, iOS and the web from Microsoft Corporation. Microsoft's replacement for the Remote Desktop apps: connect to PCs, Cloud PCs and AVD. Download it only from apps.microsoft.com. The latest version we track is Auto-updating (app stores). ToolsBharat links straight to the publisher's own download page, with no bundled offers.
- Latest version:
- Auto-updating (app stores)
- Publisher:
- Microsoft Corporation
- Official site:
- learn.microsoft.com
- Licence:
- Free — Proprietary — free
- Requirements:
- Windows 10 version 17763 or later, Windows 11, macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Android
Our verdict
Windows App has replaced the Microsoft Remote Desktop apps on Mac, iPhone and iPad, and the old Store 'Remote Desktop' app for Windows is gone. Use it to reach your office or home PC over Remote Desktop, or a Windows 365 / Azure Virtual Desktop machine from work. Signing in needs a work or school account, but connecting to a remote PC by name or IP works without signing in. On Windows, Remote Desktop Services connections still use the built-in Remote Desktop Connection or the Remote Desktop MSI client.
Screenshots
Key features
- Connects to remote PCs, Windows 365, Azure Virtual Desktop and Dev Box
- Multi-monitor support and dynamic resolution
- Redirects webcams, audio, printers and drives
- Apps for Windows, macOS, iOS, Android and a web client
Pros
- Pro: Free, official Microsoft client on every platform
- Pro: Remote PC connections need no sign-in
- Pro: Teams optimisation for cloud desktops
Cons
- Con: Personal Microsoft accounts can't sign in
- Con: On Windows, can't connect to Remote Desktop Services
- Con: Large download (around 260 MB in the Store)
What's new in Auto-updating (app stores)
See what changed in Auto-updating (app stores) in the official release notes
Version history
Version Auto-updating (app stores)Latest
date not stated- SHA-256
- The developer does not publish one
- Source
- Release notes
Official downloads by platform
For Windows, use the Download button. Other platforms go straight to the publisher's own page or official store.
- macOS — official downloadapps.apple.com(opens apps.apple.com in a new tab)
- Android — Google Playplay.google.com(opens play.google.com in a new tab)
- iOS — App Storeapps.apple.com(opens apps.apple.com in a new tab)
- Web app — open official sitewindows.cloud.microsoft(opens windows.cloud.microsoft in a new tab)
Requirements
- OS
- Windows 10 version 17763 or later, Windows 11, macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Android
- Architecture
- 64-bit, 32-bit, ARM64
Licence
- Type
- Free
- Licence
- Proprietary — free
- Publisher
- learn.microsoft.com
Where these facts come from
Checked 30 Oct 2026
FAQ
Where did Microsoft Remote Desktop for Mac go?
Microsoft replaced it with Windows App, which uses the same App Store listing. Microsoft's docs say the macOS and iOS Remote Desktop clients are no longer available as separate downloads.
Can I use Windows App with my personal Microsoft account?
Not for signing in. Microsoft says sign-in requires a work or school account. You can still add and connect to a remote PC directly without signing in.
User reviews
User reviewsयूज़र रिव्यू
No reviews yet
Used Windows App (Remote Desktop)? Reviews appear after moderation; we never import or invent ratings.
Alternatives
- AnyDesk9.8.3 · FreemiumFast, lightweight remote desktop for support and access. Official No bundlesAvailable on Windows, Android, iOS
- RustDesk1.5.1 · Open sourceOpen-source remote desktop you can self-host. Official No bundlesAvailable on Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS
- Chrome Remote Desktop157.0.8103.7 · FreeFree remote access to your own computers through Chrome. Official No bundlesAvailable on Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, Web app
Windows App (Remote Desktop)
Auto-updating (app stores) · Not stated


