Oracle JDK (Java SE Development Kit)
v25.0.5.0FreeReleased 11 Sept 2026
Oracle's official JDK builds: JDK 25 LTS and the latest JDK 27. By Oracle Corporation
- Windows
- macOS
- Linux
By the ToolsBharat teamUpdated 11 Sept 2026How we check
Quick answer
Oracle JDK (Java SE Development Kit) is free software for Windows, macOS and Linux from Oracle Corporation. Oracle's official JDK builds: JDK 25 LTS and the latest JDK 27. Download it only from oracle.com. The latest version we track is 25.0.5.0 (11 Sept 2026). ToolsBharat links straight to the publisher's own download page, with no bundled offers.
- Latest version:
- 25.0.5.0 (11 Sept 2026)
- Publisher:
- Oracle Corporation
- Official site:
- oracle.com
- Licence:
- Free — Oracle No-Fee Terms and Conditions (NFTC) for JDK 25 and 27
- Requirements:
- Windows 10/11 (64-bit), macOS, Linux
Our verdict
The JDK students and developers usually mean when they search 'jdk download'. JDK 25 is the current long-term support release and is the safe pick for college courses and projects; JDK 27 is the newest feature release. Both are free to use, including in production, under Oracle's No-Fee Terms. Updates for JDK 21, 17 and 11 are on the same page but under Oracle's OTN licence, which restricts commercial use. On Windows, choose the x64 MSI or EXE installer.
Key features
- Windows x64 installer (EXE/MSI) and ZIP
- macOS (x64 and ARM64) and Linux packages
- SHA-256 checksum linked for each file
- JDK 21, 17, 11 and 8 updates on the same page
Pros
- Pro: Free under NFTC for current releases
- Pro: Checksums published
- Pro: Reference builds from Java's steward
Cons
- Con: Licences differ between JDK versions; read before using at work
- Con: No Windows ARM64 build listed
- Con: oracle.com sometimes blocks automated access, so links can change
What's new in 25.0.5.0
See what changed in 25.0.5.0 in the official release notes
Version history
Version 25.0.5.0Latest
11 Sept 2026- SHA-256
- The developer does not publish one
- Source
- Release notes
Version JDK 25.0.5 (LTS); JDK 27.0.1 also available
date not stated- SHA-256
- The developer does not publish one
- Source
- Release notes
Official downloads by platform
For Windows, use the Download button. Other platforms go straight to the publisher's own page or official store.
Requirements
- OS
- Windows 10/11 (64-bit), macOS, Linux
- Architecture
- 64-bit, ARM64 (macOS/Linux)
Licence
- Type
- Free
- Licence
- Oracle No-Fee Terms and Conditions (NFTC) for JDK 25 and 27
- Publisher
- oracle.com
Where these facts come from
Checked 30 Oct 2026
FAQ
Which JDK should I install for college?
Install the current LTS, JDK 25, unless your course names another version. LTS releases get updates for years, and JDK 25 receives free NFTC updates until September 2028 according to Oracle.
Do I still need the java.com JRE if I install the JDK?
No. The JDK includes everything needed to run Java programs as well as compile them.
User reviews
User reviewsयूज़र रिव्यू
No reviews yet
Used Oracle JDK (Java SE Development Kit)? Reviews appear after moderation; we never import or invent ratings.
Alternatives
- Eclipse Temurin (Java JDK)25.0.5+8 (JDK 25 LTS) · Open sourceFree, TCK-certified OpenJDK builds for Java development. Official Developer SHA-256 No bundlesAvailable on Windows, macOS, Linux
- Java for desktops (JRE 8)8 Update 511 · FreeThe java.com download for running Java apps on a home PC. Official No bundlesAvailable on Windows, macOS, Linux
- Microsoft Build of OpenJDK25.0.5.0.2 (LTS); 21.0.13, 17.0.21 and 11.0.32 also available · Open sourceFree, Microsoft-supported OpenJDK 25, 21, 17 and 11 builds with Windows ARM64 support. Official No bundlesAvailable on Windows, macOS, Linux
Oracle JDK (Java SE Development Kit)
25.0.5.0 · Not stated