MikroTik SwOS (SwitchOS) firmware
vModel-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+)Free
Official SwitchOS firmware for MikroTik CSS and CRS switches, chosen by model on mikrotik.com. By MikroTik
- Web app
By the ToolsBharat teamLink checked 30 Oct 2026How we check
Quick answer
MikroTik SwOS (SwitchOS) firmware is a free web app from MikroTik. Official SwitchOS firmware for MikroTik CSS and CRS switches, chosen by model on mikrotik.com. Download it only from mikrotik.com. The latest version we track is Model-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+). ToolsBharat links straight to the publisher's own download page, with no bundled offers.
- Latest version:
- Model-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+)
- Publisher:
- MikroTik
- Official site:
- manual.mikrotik.com
- Licence:
- Free — Free downloads for the vendor's own hardware
- Requirements:
- Any computer or phone with a browser (firmware is installed on the device itself)
Our verdict
SwOS is MikroTik's lightweight switch operating system, managed only through a web page. CSS switches run it exclusively, and many CRS3xx switches can boot either SwOS or RouterOS. The SwitchOS tab on MikroTik's download page lists each supported model and gives the matching file — versions differ by model (for example v2.19 for the CRS326-24G-2S+, and the 'Lite' v2.21 for the CSS610-8G-2S+). Unlike RouterOS packages, MikroTik does not show checksums for SwOS files. Before flashing: back up the current configuration, match the exact model AND hardware version printed on the label, and never load firmware made for a different model or region. Use a wired connection and do not cut power during the upgrade. Take firmware only from the vendor's own portal — not from YouTube links, Telegram groups or mirror sites.
Key features
- Per-model SwOS builds for CSS106, CSS318, CSS326, CSS610, CRS3xx and older RB250/RB260 switches
- SwOS Lite for CSS610 and CSS106-class switches
- Wire-speed Layer-2 features: VLANs, port isolation, mirroring, ACLs, storm control and bandwidth limits
Pros
- Pro: Simple web interface for plain switching jobs
- Pro: Free for MikroTik switches
Cons
- Con: Web-only: no CLI, SSH, API or WinBox access
- Con: No checksums shown for SwOS files
What's new in Model-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+)
See what changed in Model-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+) in the official release notes
Version history
Version Model-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+)Latest
date not stated- SHA-256
- The developer does not publish one
- Source
- Release notes
Requirements
- OS
- Any computer or phone with a browser (firmware is installed on the device itself)
- Architecture
- MikroTik CSS/CRS switch models listed on the SwitchOS tab
Licence
- Type
- Free
- Licence
- Free downloads for the vendor's own hardware
- Publisher
- manual.mikrotik.com
Where these facts come from
Checked 30 Oct 2026
FAQ
SwOS or RouterOS on a CRS3xx switch?
SwOS is simpler and fully web-based, good for plain VLAN switching. RouterOS gives the full feature set, CLI and WinBox. CRS3xx models listed on the SwitchOS tab can run either; CSS models run SwOS only.
Can I manage SwOS from WinBox?
No. SwOS is managed only from its web interface over IPv4. WinBox, SSH and the API work only when the switch runs RouterOS.
User reviews
User reviewsयूज़र रिव्यू
No reviews yet
Used MikroTik SwOS (SwitchOS) firmware? Reviews appear after moderation; we never import or invent ratings.
Alternatives
- MikroTik WinBox4.4 · FreeMikroTik's own configuration app for RouterOS routers and switches — native on Windows, macOS and Linux. Official Developer SHA-256 No bundlesAvailable on Windows, macOS, Linux
- MikroTik RouterOS & firmware downloads7.25 (stable) · 7.23.8 (long-term) · FreeMikroTik's official page for RouterOS packages, CHR images, SwitchOS, WinBox and Netinstall. Official No bundles
MikroTik SwOS (SwitchOS) firmware
Model-specific — latest on the official page (e.g. v2.19 for CRS326-24G-2S+) · Not stated